Christian Grey vs. Rodney Love

For the last little while I’ve been hearing a lot about how bad Fifty Shades of Grey was, and it made me curious enough to read the trilogy. It wasn’t really that bad, and I enjoyed the chemistry between the two main characters. I did, however, take issue with Christian Grey.

His faults were many, but it would be boring to list them all. So…

I thought it would be fun to compare the character of the billionaire Christian Grey to Rodney Love, also a billionaire and one of the leading characters in my novel, Dryad. They were compared in the following categories:

1. Personal Charm

"No, I'm not creepy at all..."

“No, I’m not creepy at all…”

In this category, Rodney Love wins hands down. He is a down-to-earth friendly guy. He makes people feel comfortable, and he has a great sense of humour. Christian Grey, on the other hand, has all sorts of issues (which we will get to in a moment), and he tries to intimidate people. The narrator, Anastasia, keeps describing the way other women blush in his presence supposedly because of his attractiveness, but I think she’s biased. These women are probably just scared of Grey as he tends to make strange faces: his eyes are often “burning,” and sometimes, his eyes “blaze with anger, need and pure unadulterated lust.” Rodney: 1 Christian: 0

2. Business Success

Christian Grey is a self-made billionaire at 26. He is also a virtuoso piano player and an expert helicopter pilot… oh, and a glider pilot and a sailor. Rodney Love’s wealth is all inherited, but he works very hard in his father’s company because he wants to prove himself. Now, you would think that Christian would win in this category, but personally, I think Rodney is more likely to be successful in the long run since he is very driven while Christian spends most of his time doing S&M stuff and emailing his girlfriend instead of working. Rodney: 2 Christian: 0

3. Issues

Christian Grey was abused as a child and therefore has ridiculously low self-esteem. Also, he is so controlling, though sometimes he makes it look pretty sexy. Outside of the bedroom, however, this is not sexy at all. He wants to control everything down to making his girlfriend use the method of contraception he’s chosen for her — no, I’m not joking, he really did! All of this makes Rodney Love look well-adjusted. All Rodney has to deal with is his overbearing father who has no respect for him (waah-waah). Rodney: 2 Christian: 1

4. Being Good at Cooking

crepesIs there anything more romantic than a man who cooks a meal for his date? In this category, Grey fails miserably. He has never in his life so much as sliced an onion. Anastasia tries to teach him, but I think his heart is not really in it. Rodney Love, however, is a great cook, and thanks to his French heritage, he knows how to serve up some gourmet delicacies. Rodney: 3 Christian: 1

The Outcome

Rodney wins in most categories, and Christian has the dubious honour of having more issues of the two. I hope this post has been helpful, especially if you haven’t read Fifty Shades of Grey before. Please let me know if you have any questions about Christian Grey or Rodney Love!

6 thoughts on “Christian Grey vs. Rodney Love

  1. I can’t say I know Christian Grey, but I will say I enjoyed reading Dryad and getting to know Rodney Love. I really liked Rodney because he was a warm character I wouldn’t mind having as a friend–and having a rich friend would be pretty cool, too. Why am I all of a sudden thinking of The Great Gatsby? 🙂

    • I’m glad you like Rodney! It’s funny because I started out writing this character as a complete jerk but then he kind of grew on me and I could see more good qualities in him. Interesting comparison: you could say Rodney is what Gatsby pretends to be.

Leave a Reply

