Swashbuckling Adventures in the US

While relations between Canada and the States have been very strange, or even strained, I opt for taking a non-political view of things. I was rather interested in the swashbuckling adventures and various oddities I may encounter. As a Canadian passing through the Land of Opportunity, I did find many photo opportunities.

swashbuckling-adventures

I loved all the wacky statues, especially the Cap’n. When you go to Europe, you don’t really get much in the way of wackiness. All statues are very stern or at least respectable. They have some connection to history or politics. Not so on the Washington-Oregon border. The passage was marked by a great liquor store guarded by Captain Morgan himself.

paul-bunyan

Here’s the famous Paul Bunyan and his ox Babe. They have some historical/mythical significance… Whereas this donut…

kitsch-randys-donuts_35680_600x450

does not. Or does it?…

surfboard

And from monumental kitch to hidden gems… some artwork in an organic cafe tucked away in Trinidad, California. These are painted on real surfboards that had outlived their ocean career. It looks like I’m wearing a surfboard-shaped hat 🙂

surboard2

I just love the beaches of LA! My favorite incident was these two seagulls trying to loot our bags on Venice beach. These bags contained no food whatsoever, so I assume the seagulls were just having fun and satisfying their curiosity as they exuberantly set about pulling my red bikini and other accoutrements out of the bag. The one on the right looks like it’s smiling!

LootingGulls-adventuresin-the-us

Overall, I’m still not sure how to describe my American experience. This was only my second trip to California. The first one had inspired my novella Very Much Alive, which was focused on L.A. and its art scene. This second trip was mostly about unsuccessful attempts to surf the untamed beaches of northern Cal, still considered a new surfing frontier.

PaddlingInCurrentA

Here I am on a cool and windy day trying to paddle out while this insane current kept driving me away from my goal. It wasn’t a very successful outing!

Anyways, back to what I was saying about being unable to encompass my west coast US experience. I suppose that’s why I opted for photos instead. I think eventually it will make its way into my writing, with little fragments appearing here and there. The new novel I’m working on already has a healthy dose of surfing content and is partly based in L.A.

I hope these photos have been inspiring or at least amusing. Let me know what you think!

5 thoughts on “Swashbuckling Adventures in the US

  1. The pictures are so funny! I hope you laughed a lot on this trip. Looking forward to the novel. Does anyone fight with a swashbuckling dryad?

  2. You pics look amazing, Sonya! The Randy’s Donuts one is incredible! Love the lighting in that one. What settings did you use for that shot?

    I’ve been to Cali a few times and every time I go there I find something else that’s interesting to see. Have you been to Disneyland there? Great park! What I love best of the streets are the palm trees running all along the edge of the streets. Very large palm trees at that!

    Anyway, thanks for sharing. Looks awesome!

    • Thanks, Jack! I gotta admit the donut pic wasn’t taken by me. I filched it from National Geographic — no wonder you liked the lighting 🙂 Same with Paul Bunyan, but the rest of the photos were done by me and Boyfriend.
      I’ve never been to Disneyland but I think I’ll go one of these days. Would love to be on the Pirates of the Carribbean ride.

Leave a Reply

