Cuban Trip and Swimming with Dolphins

I’m on a catamaran in the middle of the Carribean, preparing for a dolphin adventure when my brother, who is lounging beside me with a bad case of heat stroke suddenly says, “Did you know that dolphins rape people?”

“Surely that’s nothing but a joke,” I reply.

“No, it’s a fact. I heard it on the radio.”

Fortunately this conversation did not ruin my dolphin experience…

I recently returned from Cuba, where I had many adventures, including wearing this funny hat in the jungle and yes, swimming with dolphins.

Swimming with dolphins had been a dream of mine for a long time, and it’s finally happened! As seen in this photo, dolphins are rather promiscuous. They will snuggle up to random tourists, and  I believe they mostly do it for the free fish. It kind of makes you feel like that guy who thinks the stripper really likes him. But still, I got the feeling that they’re very friendly and warm creatures. Of course, they’re much more complex than we sometimes like to believe.

People have a tendency either to think of dolphins as perfectly angelic or sometimes quite on the contrary, demonic creatures. Jokes going around on the internet about “dolphins raping people” have made some believe that dolphins are completely evil and amoral, or as one commenter stated, “rapey, murderous jerks.” Of course, there are some people to whom this title can equally apply, but that’s no reason to give up on the entire human race. I decided to do a bit of research and found this interesting article, which talks about people’s attitudes towards dolphins and the truth behind the myths:

http://www.beatricebiologist.com/2011/06/dolphin-sexual-harassment.html

6 thoughts on “Cuban Trip and Swimming with Dolphins

  1. Wow, I’d never heard that rumour either, so of course I had to check out the blog post you recommended. Both your post and the scientific one are fascinating and informative — plus I love your photos. Looks like you had a wonderful vacation!

  2. “It kind of makes you feel like that guy who thinks the stripper really likes him”, LOL, I’m that guy! Seriously that looks like a wonderful experience and one to be treasured. Thanks for sharing (both the pics and the Darth Vader side of dolphins). I’ll never be able to think of Flipper the same way I used to 🙂

  3. Pingback: It’s not exactly swashbuckling… | Swashbuckler's Tales

  4. Pingback: dolphin huntersSonya Solomonovich

Leave a Reply

